Atividades de Inglês para Alunos do Nível Avançado! (Prof. Newton)

COMPOSITION
Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Only people who earn a lot of money are successful. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

READING
How do you open the toothpaste?
I recently took a vacation that involved flying across the ocean. Since it was a long overnight flight, passengers were provided with little “kits” including a toothbrush and a tiny tube of toothpaste, slippers and so on.

I tried to get some sleep on the flight, and when I awoke, I went to the lavatory to freshen up. When I unscrewed the cap from the tiny tube of toothpaste, I discovered the tube was sealed. Since I didn’t have anything with me to pierce the seal, I tried to pop out the seal by squeezing the tube. This resulted in the side of the tube splitting open and sending toothpaste all over my trousers!

When I got back to my seat, I told my wife about my experience. She showed me how the seal could be broken by using the small piercing tool in the top of the toothpaste cap. (See arrow.) Many people might blame themselves for not knowing how to open the toothpaste tube, but I opt to blame the designers of this tube for not making it more obvious how to open it. After all, I am no different than many people who have never seen a tiny toothpaste tube that opens in this way. And perhaps they, like me, will have to figure out how to open the tube while still half asleep.

A more obvious design might be to provide the type of sealed cap used on many soft-drink bottles, where unscrewing the cap breaks the seal.
At the very least it would be helpful to include directions on the tube for piercing the seal. The directions should be illustrated graphically so they could be understood by speakers of any language.

LISTENING
The extinction of men
http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/general/sixminute/2012/03/120315_6min_english_extinct_men.shtml

VIDEO
Juan Enriquez: Will our kids be a different species?
http://www.ted.com/talks/juan_enriquez_will_our_kids_be_a_different_species.html
(English Subtitles)

GRAMMAR
Active Voice, Passive Voice
There are two special forms for verbs called voice:

  1. Active voice
  2. Passive voice

The active voice is the “normal” voice. This is the voice that we use most of the time. You are probably already familiar with the active voice. In the active voice, the object receives the action of the verb:

active subject verb object
>
Cats eat fish.

The passive voice is less usual. In the passive voice, the subject receives the action of the verb:

passive subject verb object
<
Fish are eaten by cats.

The object of the active verb becomes the subject of the passive verb:

subject verb object
active Everybody drinks water.
passive Water is drunk by everybody.

Now we’ll look at the passive voice in more detail »

EXERCISES
Adjectives and Nouns
http://www.edufind.com/english/englishtests/english_test_explanation.php?testid=24

SONG
Rolling In The Deep
Adele

Video: http://youtu.be/rYEDA3JcQqw

There’s a fire starting in my heart
Reaching a fever pitch and it’s bringing me out the dark
Finally, I can see you crystal clear
Go ahead and sell me out and I’ll lay your shit bare

See how I’ll leave with every piece of you
Don’t underestimate the things that I will do

There’s a fire starting in my heart
Reaching a fever pitch and its bringing me out the dark

The scars of your love remind me of us
They keep me thinking that we almost had it all
The scars of your love, they leave me breathless
I can’t help feeling

We could’ve had it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
Rolling in the deep
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
You had my heart inside of your hand
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
And you played it to the beat
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)

Baby, I have no story to be told
But I’ve heard one of you and I’m gonna make your head burn
Think of me in the depths of your despair
Making a home down there, as mine sure won’t be shared

(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
The scars of your love remind me of us
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
They keep me thinking that we almost had it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
The scars of your love, they leave me breathless
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
I can’t help feeling

We could’ve had it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
Rolling in the deep
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
You had my heart inside of your hand
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
And you played it to the beat
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)

Could have had it all
Rolling in the deep
You had my heart inside of your hand
But you played it with a beating

Throw your soul through every open door
Count your blessings to find what you look for
Turn my sorrow into treasured gold
You pay me back in kind and reap just what you sow

(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
We could’ve had it all
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
We could’ve had it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
It all, it all, it all
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)

We could’ve had it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
Rolling in the deep
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
You had my heart inside of your hand
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
And you played it to the beat
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)

Could’ve had it all
(You’re gonna wish you never had met me)
Rolling in the deep
(Tears are gonna fall, rolling in the deep)
You had my heart inside of your hand

But you played it
You played it
You played it
You played it to the beat
_____________________________

Deixe um comentário

